Please keep taking pictures of your kids!

“What I like about photographs is that they capture a moment that’s gone forever, impossible to reproduce.”
— Karl Lagerfeld

One of the saddest days in my career was when a client phoned me and described her absolute heartbreak to me.  Her son had passed away at the age of only 19, and the last photos of him she had where he wasn’t in a school or sport uniform was when he was 5! My heart went out to this poor woman so much! Over the phone I could hear her intense regret! Her regret of never taking the time to take his picture… I don’t want to scare you, I just want you to realize, photos are so important!

I am such a nostalgic person (which suits my job perfectly of course) .  I constantly find myself looking at pictures of my kids and feeling so sad when I see how they have grown and how they have changed.  When do we stop looking at our kids this way, cherishing each milestone, drinking in each moment of their fantastic lives?

 

A recent shoot reminded me once again that moments are still important!  Take pictures of your kids! Even if they complain or go through the moody teenager phase.  And even more important, be in pictures with them.  Don’t let your own self conscious insecurities stop you from being in the memories too.  When you look back on all these shared moments it will mean the world to see that you were there for them. It is such an important part of life! Captured moments make memories we can cherish forever!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

